That Girl

I’ve never been THAT GIRL.

THAT GIRL who instantly finds herself in a relationship, effortlessly. Like it was destiny. I guess it was just never destined for me to be THAT GIRL.

THAT GIRL who never stops having people confess their unyielding admiration for her.
THAT GIRL who people can’t stop talking about how pretty she is.
THAT GIRL who can get people to prioritize her at the smack of her patterned leather-soft lips and a little hair flip, effortlessly.
Like it was destiny. I guess it was just never destined for me to be THAT GIRL.

THAT GIRL who knows how to dress properly.
THAT GIRL who can put up make-up on flawlessly.
THAT GIRL who can post a photo to Instagram and not find a million insecurities lurking at the tips of her fingers as she presses the “share” button.

And I know that I shouldn’t let these things define my femininity.
I know I shouldn’t let these bother me, but they do.
It’s like having a lack of society’s acceptance into this world is seen as an abnormality.
It is seen as less than womanly and I’m always forced to ask myself “what’s wrong with me?”

But maybe it’s because I was never destined to be THAT GIRL.
Maybe it’s because I was destined to be something more.
To be THAT GIRL who just lives her life.
THAT GIRL who loves herself for who she is and doesn’t rely on society’s acceptance to make herself feel alright.

THAT GIRL who knows what she wants and fight until it’s hers.
THAT GIRL who still has insecurities but at the end of the day just says “whatever’.
Because we all know who we really are at the end of the day.
As long as we are happy and we accept ourselves,  the real us, that’s better.

Yes! I WANT TO BE THAT GIRL

image
That girl

Until next time,
Larrem Atienza 🐼

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

