2017.

15871182_674838329387722_435588040_n.jpg

At the beginning of 2016, I cried.
I was overwhelmed by survival,
by the notion that I had made it to the new year still breathing.
I remembered all the pain I had survived through,
all the bad things that had happened and I hadn’t died because of.
At the beginning of 2017, I smiled.
I made goals for the upcoming year,
thought about all the good things I had planned.
I remembered the bad in 2016, but I didn’t cry.
I planned.
2016 was no easier than 2015.
I had every right to cry- but I didn’t.
My life might not have gotten easier, but I had gotten stronger.
Instead of crying because I’d survived,
I smiled because I was finally going to live.

Leave a Reply

